top of page

Principal investigator

Professor Carla Faria


PhD student

Sufia Hashim


Post-doctoral research associate

Dr Lidice Cruz Rodriguez


PhD student

Anika Aynul


Post-doctoral research associate

Dr Bradley Augstein


PhD student

Thomas Rook


Meet Our Team

Below you will find the current and former team members. Over the years, the group has hosted 10 PhD students, 21 MSc/MSci students, 2 BSc students, and 7 post-doctoral research associates. I have also managed to attract self-funded post-docs and visitors at all levels.

Since 2007, I have been the primary supervisor of research students at all levels and from a wide range of backgrounds. This includes 9 PhD students, 21 MSc/MSci students, 3 BSc students and several summer students.  They have established careers that draw upon their research skills, either by becoming post-doctoral research associates (PDRAs) in the UK and abroad, or software developers. In total, my PhD students have been awarded 20 prizes at local, national and international levels. Examples are the EPSRC Doctoral Training Prize (2010 and 2011), the CSC China-UK Studentship for Excellence (2010), the UCL Carey Foster Prize for Outstanding Postgraduate Research (2011 and 2012), the UCL Post-Doctoral Fellowship on Quantum Technologies (2018) and the 2016 Europhysical Journal (EPJ) Poster Prize at the International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (ICPEAC), Toledo, Spain. I have also a consistently outstanding supervisory track record at all levels, with a high completion rate and a high percentage of first class degrees. Some of my MSc/MSci students have also been awarded prizes, both for their overall performance and for their research, such as the 2017 Harrie Massey Prize for best overall UCL Physics and Astronomy MSc student. It is noteworthy that students belonging to under-represented groups constitute the overwhelming majority (70%) of those I have supervised at PhD and MSci/MSc levels

Andrew Maxwell, Cornelia Hofmann, Abbie Bray, Heloise Chomet, Gyeonghun KIm, Samuel Plesnik, Constantin Nicolae, Abraham Jacob. For former members prior to 2020, please follow the link provided above to the old group website.


Would you like to join?
We no longer have a PhD or post-doc opening for a specific project, but there are several funding possibilities to which one may apply. In case you would like to join, please drop me an e-mail.

Inquiries: Professor Carla Faria;

bottom of page